Skip to main content

Advisory Committees

  • About

    The Commission maintains 56 State and U.S. Territory Advisory Committees, one in each state, the District of Columbia, and the five U.S. Territories. Each is composed of citizen volunteers familiar with local and state civil rights issues. The members assist the Commission with its fact-finding, investigative, and information dissemination functions.

  • Membership

    Group Photo of the Guam Advisory Committee

    Commissioners are responsible for appointments to the advisory committees and seek to ensure committees are broadly diverse and represent a variety of backgrounds, skills, experiences and perspectives.

    Committees Seeking Applicants

  • Regional Programs Unit Office

    John C. Kluczynski Building in Chicago

    The Commission's Regional Programs Unit office is located in Chicago, and is staffed by a director, civil rights analysts, and other administrative personnel. They coordinate the Commission's operations in regions across the U.S. and assist Advisory Committees in their activities.

  • Meetings

    Meeting announcements, briefing materials, and calls for public comment

  • News

    Announcements on member appointments, new committees, report releases, and more

  • Reports

    Findings and recommendations submitted to the Commission to address civil rights concerns