Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Watch our videos on YouTube

State Advisory Committees


The Commission maintains 51 State Advisory Committees (SACs), one for each state and the District of Columbia. Each is composed of citizen volunteers familiar with local and state civil rights issues. The members assist the Commission with its fact-finding, investigative, and information dissemination functions.

The Commission seeks to ensure that advisory committees are broadly diverse and represent a variety of backgrounds, skills, experiences and perspectives. This diversity promotes vigorous debate and full exploration of the issues. All appointments are made in a non-discriminatory manner.

Commissioners are responsible for appointments to the advisory committees. Commissioners vote on individual appointments upon submission of recommendations by the staff director. The term of service for a committee member is four years with a total duration of not more than eight years (or two four-year terms) unless there is sufficient basis for extending the appointment to 12 years.

View the Advisory Committee Meeting Schedule here.

Regional Office Contact Information

Eastern Regional Office

1331 Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Suite 1150
Washington, D.C. 20425
Tel: (202) 376-7533
TTY: (202) 376-8116

Midwestern Regional Office

Suite 2120
Kluczynski Federal Building
230 South Dearborn St.
Chicago, IL 60604
Tel: (312) 353-8311
TTY: (312) 353-8362

Rocky Mountain Regional Office

Byron Rogers Federal Office Building
1961 Stout Street, Suite 13-201
Denver, CO 80294
Tel: (303) 866-1040
TTY: (303) 866-1049

Western Regional Office

Suite 2010
300 North Los Angeles Street
Los Angeles, California 90012
Tel: (213) 894-3437
TTY: (213) 894-3435


   Updated: March 22, 2019