Skip to main content

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announce the Appointments of Advisory Committee Members for New Mexico and Texas

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our New Mexico and Texas Advisory Committee, effective September 10, 2021.

Advisory Committees have recently examined water affordability, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, maternal health, and solitary confinement. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state, and local levels.

For the state of New Mexico:

Christopher Saucedo (Chair); Davis New; Elizabeth Eastman; John Gist; Vinay Harpalani; Pamelya Herndon; Stacy Moses; Sandra Ortsman; Carolyn Stith; Sydney Tellez; Marc Tizoc Gonzalez; Douglas Turner.

For the state of Texas:

Merrill Matthews (Chair); Jada Andrews-Sullivan; Joni Baker; Josh Blackman; Charles Blain; Charles Burchett; Rogene Calvert; Cecilia Castillo; Ariel Dulitzky; Mark Harrington; Brandon Holt; Christopher Kulesza; Austin Nimocks; Ronald Smeberg; Barbara Walters; Jamilah Way.

News Type
Commission News
Advisory Committees News
State or Territory