

## **ANNOUNCEMENT** September 20, 2021

Contact: Angelia Rorison 202-376-7700 publicaffairs@usccr.gov

## The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announce the Appointments of Advisory Committee Members for New Mexico and Texas

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our New Mexico and Texas Advisory Committee, effective September 10, 2021.

Advisory Committees have recently <u>examined</u> water affordability, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, maternal health, and solitary confinement. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state, and local levels.

## For the state of New Mexico:

Christopher Saucedo (Chair); Davis New; Elizabeth Eastman; John Gist; Vinay Harpalani; Pamelya Herndon; Stacy Moses; Sandra Ortsman; Carolyn Stith; Sydney Tellez; Marc Tizoc Gonzalez; Douglas Turner.

## For the state of Texas:

Merrill Matthews (Chair); Jada Andrews-Sullivan; Joni Baker; Josh Blackman; Charles Blain; Charles Burchett; Rogene Calvert; Cecilia Castillo; Ariel Dulitzky; Mark Harrington; Brandon Holt; Christopher Kulesza; Austin Nimocks; Ronald Smeberg; Barbara Walters; Jamilah Way.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 56 state and territory Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.