Iowa Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights 

Lenola Allen-Sommerville, Chairperson 
Des Moines 

Rudolph T. Juarez

Ed Carl Barnes
Des Moines

Marilyn Murphy  
Sioux City

Joe Dan Coulter
Iowa City  

Beverly J. Nelson

Curtis Creighton
Iowa City

Marcia Stasch
Mason City

Ann Friauf 
Cedar Rapids

Dinh VanLo
Des Moines

Christina Gonzalez  
Des Moines

Gail Weitz  



The Iowa Advisory Committee wishes to thank the staff of the Commissionís Central Regional Office for their help in the preparation of this report. The project was the principal assignment of Ascension Hernandez, civil rights analyst, with support from Jo Ann Daniels. The project was carried out under the overall supervision of Melvin L. Jenkins, director, Central Regional Office.