Hawaii Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

Charles Maxwell, Sr., Chairperson
Pukalani Maui

Helen R. Nagtalon-Miller

Patricia M. Cook

Alan T. Murakami

David Michael Forman

Julianne R. Puzon

Quentin K. Kawananakoa

Oswald K. Stender

Faye Kennedy

Anthony S. Vericella


The Hawaii Advisory Committee wishes to thank staff of the Commissionís headquarters office in Washington, D.C., and the Western Regional Office in Los Angeles for their assistance in the preparation of this report. The project was the principal assignment of Thomas V. Pilla with support at the open meetings from Grace Hernandez, Arthur Palacios, and Angelica Trevino, all of the Western Regional Office, and David Aronson, Pamela A. Dunston, Deborah Reid, and Mireille Zieseniss, all of the Commissionís Washington, D.C., office. Mireille Zieseniss and Deborah Reid prepared an initial draft of this report, with review by Thomas V. Pilla. Kim Ball conducted the legal sufficiency review. The Advisory Committee would like to thank David Forman and Alan Murakami of the project subcommittee for their invaluable contribution to the final report, and Ruby G. Moy for work during the projectís planning phase. Dawn Sweet provided editorial assistance and prepared the report for publication. The project was carried out under the supervision of Philip Montez, regional director.