

NEWS RELEASE January 5, 2017

Media contact: David Mussatt Email: dmussatt@usccr.gov Tel: (312) 353-8311

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for Five States and the District of Columbia

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announces the appointment of members to the following Advisory Committees.

For the state of California:

Betty Wilson, Chair, resident of Los Angeles; James Bolton, Altadena; Nancy Eisenhart, Woodland Hills; Debra Fong, Pasadena; Javier Gonzalez, San Jose; Susan Jester, San Diego; Velma Montoya, Hollywood; Maria Morales, San Diego; Brian Moriguchi, Stevenson Ranch; Rogelio Ruiz, San Jose; Maimon Schwarzschild, San Diego; Rachel Sigman, South Lake Tahoe; Robin Toma, Los Angeles.

Colorado:

Alvina Earnhart, Chair, resident of Milliken; Christine Alonzo, Denver; Ming H. Chen, Boulder; Shawn Coleman, Boulder; Kyle Conrad, Denver; Robert Detrick, Lakewood; Vernard Gant, Colorado Springs; David Kopel, Boulder; Nancy Morehead, Centennial; Eva Muñiz Valdez, Pueblo; William Pendley, Evergreen; Qiang Raleigh, Littleton; Cleveland Thompson, Colorado Springs; William Trachman, Denver.

District of Columbia:

Gerson Gomez, Chair; Paul H. Borchers; Daniel Z. Epstein; Nadia J. Firozvi; Kendrick D. Holley; Deanna R. Hoskins; Jamihlia F. Johnson; Charles R. Lowery, Jr.; John G. Malcolm; Marie Connelly Meszaros; Sherry A. Newton; Alan K. Palmer; Laurence D. Pearl; Robert E. Soave.

Indiana:

Diane Clements-Boyd, Chair, resident of Evansville; Elizabeth Cierzniak, Indianapolis; Tammi Davis, Gary; Robert Dion, Evansville; Christopher Douglas, Indianapolis; Richard Garnett, Notre Dame; James Haigh, South Bend; Tony Kirkland, Indianapolis; Billy McGill, Fort Wayne; Patti O'Callaghan, West Lafayette; Ernesto Palomo, Chesterton; Carlton Waterhouse, Indianapolis; Ellen Wu, Bloomington.

New Mexico:

Sandra Rodriguez, Chair, resident of Albuquerque; Lillian Apodaca, Albuquerque; George Bach, Jr., Albuquerque; Kenneth Brown, Albuquerque; Robert Martinez, Albuquerque; Roger Michener, Placitas; Elaine Miller, Albuquerque; Janet Page-Reeves, Albuquerque; Hwasoon (Sue) Thorson, Albuquerque; Damon Tobias, Cedar Crest; Charles Vigil, Albuquerque; Valerie Webb Jaramillo, Albuquerque; Frances Williams, Las Cruces; Monica Youngblood, Albuquerque.

Wyoming:

Anetra Evashevski Parks, Chair, resident of Laramie; Robert Byrd, Torrington; Affie Ellis, Cheyenne; Rodney McDowell, Cheyenne; Eric Nye, Laramie; Magdaleno Ornelas, Cheyene; Gail Ridgely, Riverton; Sara Robinson, Lander; George Santini, Cheyenne; Julian Vela, Sheridan; Melanie Vigil, Lander.

Advisory Committee members conduct reviews and produce reports and recommendations concerning local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing, education, and other important themes. The Commission, by Congressional mandate, establishes Advisory Committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees to the Committees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated.

#####

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about the Commission and its Advisory Committees, please visit http://www.usccr.gov and follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/usccrgov