

NEWS RELEASE December 15, 2017

Contact: David Mussatt dmussatt@usccr.gov (312) 353-8311

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces the Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for New Jersey, North Dakota and Rhode Island

WASHINGTON, DC – The Commission congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our state Advisory Committees. Our Committees play an important role in civil rights advocacy at state and local levels.

For the state of New Jersey:

Lawrence Lustberg, Chair, resident of Chatham; Sahara Aziz, Westfield; Marcia Brown, Long Branch; Lora Fong, Edison; Brian Gaffney, Morristown; Manuel Garcia, Warren; Erica Jednyak, Rockaway; Donita Judge, Denville; Pearl Park, Summit; Joan Rivitz, Paramus; Saulo Santiago, Jersey City; Daniel Schuberth, Robbinsville; Amol Sinha, Jersey City; John Stanley Jr., Wyckoff; William Stephney, Rockaway; Kristian Stout, Robbinsville; Frank Tinari, Florham Park; Carole Tonks, Brick.

For the state of North Dakota:

Eric Asa, Chair, West Fargo; Cesario Alvarez, Jr., New Town; Scott Beaulier, Fargo; David Chapman, West Fargo; Yee Han Chu, Grand Forks; Kirsten Dauphinais, Grand Forks; Crystal Dueker, Fargo; Stephanie Johnson, Grand Forks; Cheryl Kary, Bismarck; Lisa Lone Fight, New Town; Michelle Rydz, Grand Forks; Sheryl Stradinger, Bismarck.

For the state of Rhode Island:

Jennifer Steinfeld, Chair, Providence; Alero Akporiaye, Rumford; Donald Anderson, North Kingstown; Farid Ansari, Johnston; Charles Berkley, Jr., Cranston; Marcela Betancur, North Providence; Langdon Clough, West Warwick; Ernest Greco, Providence; Margaux Morisseau, Scituate; Adelita Orefice, Providence; Gary Sasse, East Greenwich; Elena Shih, Providence; Andrew Tugan, East Greenwich; William Wray, East Greenwich.

Advisory Committee members conduct reviews and produce reports and recommendations concerning local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing, education, and other important themes. The Commission, by Congressional mandate, establishes Committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated. The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and reporting annually on civil rights. For more information, please visit <u>http://www.usccr.gov</u> and follow us on <u>Twitter</u> and <u>Facebook</u>.