

NEWS RELEASE May 3, 2017 Media contact: David Mussatt Email: <u>dmussatt@usccr.gov</u> Tel: (312) 353-8311

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces the Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for Alaska and Arizona

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our state Advisory Committees. Our Committees play an important role in civil rights advocacy at state and local levels.

For the state of Alaska:

Natalie Landreth, Chair, Anchorage; Robin Bronen, Anchorage; Nelson Godoy, Anchorage; Paula Haley, Anchorage; Cynthia Henry, Fairbanks; John Hoffman, Anchorage; Judith Kleinfeld, Fairbanks; Gerald McBeath, Fairbanks; Elizabeth Medicine Crow, Anchorage; Denise Morris, Anchorage; Marilyn Stewart, Anchorage; Margaret Stock, Anchorage; Venus Woods; Anchorage.

For the state of Arizona:

Lorena Van Assche, Chair, Scottsdale; Rebekah Browder, Gilbert; Patty Ferguson-Bohnee, Sacaton; Ann Hart, Phoenix; Melissa Ho, Phoenix; Dana Kennedy, Phoenix; David Kim, Gilbert; Adolfo Maldonado, Tempe; Aaron Martin, Phoenix; Evangeline Nunez, Phoenix; Theresa Rassas, Phoenix; Jonathan Rose, Tempe; Beverly Walker, Phoenix; Eric Yordy, Flagstaff.

Advisory Committee members conduct reviews and produce reports and recommendations concerning local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing, education, and other important themes. The Commission, by Congressional mandate, establishes Committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated.

#####

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing an annual federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about the Commission and its Advisory Committees, please visit <u>http://www.usccr.gov</u> and follow us on <u>Twitter</u> and <u>Facebook</u>.