

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release May 4, 2016

Media contact: Ivy Davis Director, Eastern Regional Office (202) 376-7533

## U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Appoints West Virginia State Advisory Committee Members

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announced today the appointment of 15 members to the West Virginia State Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed:

- Ms. Tara N. Martinez, Chairperson, of Charleston
- Ms. Adrienne Belafonte Biesemeyer, of Alderson
- Ms. Sheli Bernstein-Goff, of Wheeling
- Ms. Naomi Cohen, of Lewisburg
- Mr. Atiba R. Ellis, of Morgantown
- Mr. David E. Gilbert, of Nimitz
- Ms. Ira F. Hartman, of Charleston
- Ms. Anne M. Lofaso, of Morgantown

- Ms. Lydia C. Milnes, of Huntington
- Mr. Jason D. Nicholas, of Charleston
- Mr. James F. Shaffer, of Morgantown
- Ms. Ethel Morgan Smith, of Morgantown
- Ms. Merideth D. Smith, of Charleston
- Mr. Joseph M. Tyree, of Scott Depot
- Ms. Lisa K. Younis, of Shepherdstown

State advisory committees produce reports and recommendations concerning statewide or local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing and education. Congress mandates the appointment of members to state advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees to the federal State Advisory Committees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated.

## ##########

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters, studying civil rights issues, and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about Commission's reports and meetings, visit <a href="http://www.usccr.gov">http://www.usccr.gov</a>.

Follow, share, and be a part of the conversation on Twitter: @USCCRgov