

NEWS RELEASE August 2, 2016 Media contact: Jeff Hinton jhinton@usccr.gov (404) 562-7000

The U. S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointment of Tennessee Advisory Committee Members

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announces the appointment of members to its Tennessee Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed:

- Ms. Diane Di Ianni of Nashville, Chair
- Ms. Tiffany Cox of Cane Ridge
- Ms. Amy Sayward of Murfreesboro
- Mr. Daniel Horwitz of Nashville
- Dr. Frank Meeuwis of Madison
- Mr. John Pointer of Cane Ridge
- Ms. Katrina Donaldson of Mt. Pleasant
- Dr. Sekou Franklin of Nashville

- Mr. Justin Owen of Nashville
- Mr. Shaka Mitchell of Nashville
- Ms. Valorie Vojdik of Knoxville
- Mr. Eliud Trevino of Antioch
- Mr. Greg Grisham of Nashville
- Ms. Gail Seavey of Nashville
- Ms. Yesha Yadav of Nashville
- Mr. Brian Krumm of Knoxville

State Advisory Committee members conduct reviews and produce reports and recommendations concerning state and local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing and education. The Commission, by Congressional mandate, establishes Advisory Committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees to State Advisory Committees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated.

#####

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about the Commission and its State Advisory Committees, please visit <u>http://www.usccr.gov</u> and follow us on Twitter: <u>https://twitter.com/usccrgov</u>