

NEWS RELEASE For immediate release August 31, 2015 Media contact: Malee V. Craft Director, Rocky Mountain Regional Office (303) 866-1040

U. S. Commission on Civil Rights Appoints South Dakota State Advisory Committee Members

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announced the appointment of 12 members to the South Dakota Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed:

- Dr. Richard M. Braunstein of Vermillion
- Mr. Charles T. Abourezk of Rapid City
- Ms. Melanie K. Bliss of Sioux Falls
- Ms. Marcia N. Bunger of Spencer
- Mr. Scott D. German of Peever
- Ms. A. Gay Kingman of Rapid City

- Mr. Lloyd C. LaCroix of Rapid City
- Mr. Mike J. Levsen of Aberdeen
- Ms. Cassandra L. McKeown of Vermillion
- Ms. Renee B. Olson of Waubay
- Mr. Ira W. Taken Alive of McLaughlin
- Ms. Sheila S. Woodward of Yankton

State advisory committee members conduct reviews and produce reports and recommendations concerning local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing and education. Congress mandates that the federal Commission appoint volunteer members to advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees serve four-year terms.

The South Dakota Advisory Committee recently addressed civil rights issues in the state and specifically the administration of justice in Rapid City. The committee will meet for the first time later this year to develop plans for publication of its report.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with studying and advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about Commission reports and meetings, visit <u>http://www.usccr.gov.</u>

###