## THE ARKANSAS STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE U.S. COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

......

**PRESS RELEASE** 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**Contact:** 

Farella E. Robinson, Regional Director (913) 551-1400

Arkansas State Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces a Factfinding Meeting on "Who Is Enforcing Civil Rights in Arkansas: Is There a Need for a State Civil Rights Agency"

Kansas City, Kansas - The Arkansas State Advisory Committee will hold a public factfinding meeting to receive information on and revisit whether or not there is a need for a state civil rights agency. The Arkansas State Advisory Committee published a report in February 2001 concerning this question. The Committee's report revealed that the Arkansas Civil Rights Act of 1993 was not substantially equivalent with federal civil rights laws, rules and regulations and remains so today. Arkansas is one of only a few states without a comprehensive state civil rights agency to receive citizen complaints and safeguard individuals from discrimination.

The Committee will receive reports, suggestions and recommendations from local, state and federal agencies, elected officials, business leaders, legal experts, representatives of community and civil rights agencies knowledgeable about and interested in this matter.

A summary report with findings and recommendations will be developed based on the information received. An open session from 4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. will be made available to the public for their comments.

WHEN: Wednesday, September 12, 2012

9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (CST)

Thursday, September 13, 2012 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (CST)

WHERE: Holiday Inn Presidential

600 Interstate 30 Bush/Reagan Room Little Rock, AR 72202 Dr. Gary M. McHenry of Fayetteville is Chairman of the Arkansas State Advisory Committee. Other members of the Committee are Melissa Duke, Esq., Julie Greathouse, Esq., Dr. Andre Guerrero, Dr. Rose Jones, Gregory Kaza, Ranko Shiraki Oliver, Esq., and Brian Vandiver, Esq. of Little Rock; Dr. Joseph Horton of Conway; Dr. Adam Arroyos, Dr. Robert Maranto and Dr. Gary Ritter of Fayetteville.

Members of the public and interested organizations are invited to submit written statements for the record on the specific topic of the fact-finding meeting by sending them to:

Farella E. Robinson
Regional Director
Central Regional Office
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Gateway Tower II
400 State Avenue
Suite 908
Kansas City, Kansas 66101
or
Fax (913) 551-1413

Committee members and/or Committees do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they necessarily represent the policies of the U.S. government.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin R. Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, David Kladney, Abigail Thernstrom, and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is <a href="http://www.usccr.gov">http://www.usccr.gov</a>.