THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS Rocky Mountain Regional Office

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 2, 2012

For Information Contact:
Malee V. Craft, 303-866-1040

North Dakota Advisory Committee to Hold a Planning Meeting

What: North Dakota Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

When: Tuesday, July 24, 2012, 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. (CDT)

Where: River Room, City Hall, 200 N. 3rd Street, Fargo, ND 58102

The North Dakota Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights will hold a meeting to discuss civil rights issues, plan future activities, and select a project topic to study.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan, fact-finding agency of the Federal government. Its members are appointed by the President and the Congress.

The Commission has appointed Advisory Committees in the 50 States and District of Columbia to assist it in its efforts. The Chairperson of the North Dakota Advisory Committee is Cheryl Ann Long Feather Kary of Bismarck. Other members of the committee are: Pete Padilla of Devils Lake; David Meier of Dickinson; Cheryl Bergian, Crystal Dueker, Robert Herren, and Connie Nelson of Fargo; Jordan Schuetzle and Stephanie Johnson of Grand Forks; and Marc Bluestone and Carol Good Bear of New Town.

The North Dakota State Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

Congress has directed the Commission to establish advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, whose members serve without compensation. State committees receive reports, suggestions, and recommendations from individuals, public officials, and representatives of public and private organizations in response to committee inquiries.

999 18th Street • Suite 1380 South • Denver, CO 80202 (303) 866-1040 (phone) • (303) 866-1050 (fax) • www.usccr.gov