## THE IOWA STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE U.S. COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

Press Release Contact:

August 22, 2011 Farella E. Robinson, Regional Director

(913) 551-1400

## Iowa State Advisory Committee Announces Planning/Briefing Meeting

**WHAT:** Planning and Briefing Meeting of the Iowa State Advisory Committee to the U.S.

Commission on Civil Rights

**WHEN:** Wednesday, September 21, 2011

1:00 p.m. (CDT)

**WHERE:** Office of the Iowa Secretary of State

Lucas State Office Building First Floor Conference Room

321 East 12<sup>th</sup> Street Des Moines, IA 50319

The Iowa State Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights will convene a planning meeting to continue planning its future civil rights projects. The Committee will meet with and receive a briefing from the Election Director of the Office of Iowa Secretary of State. This information will assist the Committee in developing a civil rights project on state laws with regard to voting by Iowans deployed overseas. This will include an overview of proposed voting rights legislation related to the military that will be considered during the General Assembly's 2012 session.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission may rely on studies and data generated by third parties that are not subject to an independent review by Commission staff. The views expressed in SAC reports are those of a majority of the State Advisory Committee members and do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they represent the policies of the U.S. government.

Donald P. Racheter of Mount Pleasant is Chairman of the Iowa Advisory Committee. Other members of the Committee are Nancy Boettger of Harlan; Joe Coulter and Leonard Sandler of Iowa City; Sheryl Leonard of Holstein; Isaiah McGee and Cynthia Miller of Des Moines; Michael Sadler of Urbandale; and Tamara Scott of Norwalk.

~~~~~~~~~

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, David Kladney, Abigail Thernstrom, and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov