Hate Crime in Ohio Revisited

The Ohio Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights will convene a factfinding meeting on Monday, November 24, 2003, from 1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and on Tuesday, November 25, 2003, from 8:45 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., at the Ohio Civil Rights Commission, 1111 E. Broad St., Columbus, OH. The purpose of this meeting is to gather information in order to update the Committee's 1995 report entitled Hate Crime in Ohio.

The meeting is open to the public. In addition, members of the public are encouraged to speak to the Advisory Committee regarding their concerns about civil rights issues during an open session from 5:45 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Monday and 3:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday. An agenda of the meeting is included in this release.

The United States Commission on Civil Rights is an independent bipartisan, factfinding agency of the Federal Government. It is directed to collect information concerning the denial of equal protection of the laws under the Constitution because of race, color, religion, sex, age, disability or national origin. The Commission submits reports, findings, and recommendations of such studies to the President and the Congress.

As directed by Congress, the Commission has established committees in the 50 U.S states and the District of Columbia, comprised of volunteer citizens who advise the Commission on state-level issues. The Chairperson of the Ohio Advisory Committee is Lynwood L. Battle, Jr. of Cincinnati. Other members of the Advisory Committee are Lee Esprit of Xenia, James Francis and David Reid of Dayton, Mildred Martinez of Parma, Virginia Ortega of Toledo, Juan Perez of Powell, Roberta Presley of Shaker Heights, Grace Ramos and Thomas Rogers of Beavercreek, and Barbara Rodemeyer of North Canton.

Mary Frances Berry is Chairperson of the United States Commission on Civil Rights.