

ANNOUNCEMENT June 6, 2022 Contact: Angelia Rorison 202-376-8371 <u>publicaffairs@usccr.gov</u>

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announce the Appointments of Advisory Committee Members for Hawai'i and Ohio

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our Hawai'i and Ohio Advisory Committee, effective April 8, 2022.

Advisory Committees have recently <u>examined</u> water affordability, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, maternal health, and solitary confinement. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state, and local levels.

For the state of Hawai'i:

Shaunda Makaimoku (Chair); Alphonso Braggs; Jennifer Dotson; Arthur Hannemann; Aaron Kubo; Adriel Lam; Asia LaVonne; Raymund Liongson; Sarah "Mili" Milianta-Laffin; Troy Smith.

For the state of Ohio:

Lee Strang (Chair); Cassandra Bledsoe; Elizabeth Callan; Subodh Chandra; Anjali Chavan; Diane Citrino; David Forte; Scott Gerber; Willa Gibson; Robert Salem; Bradley Smith; Mark Strasser.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 56 state and territory Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. Follow us on <u>Twitter</u> and <u>Facebook</u>.