

ANNOUNCEMENT July 23, 2021 Contact: Angelia Rorison 202-376-7700 publicaffairs@usccr.gov

## The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces the Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for Iowa

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our Iowa Advisory Committee, effective July 23, 2021.

Advisory Committees have recently <u>examined</u> water affordability, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, maternal health, and solitary confinement. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state, and local levels.

## For the state of Iowa:

Kyle Burgason; Paul Fessler; Katie Fiala; Adam Freed; Juan Garcia; Henry Hamilton; Cynthia Koehler; Stefanie Munsterman-Scriven; Alan Ostergren; Donald Roth; LaSheila Yates

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 51 state Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.