

ANNOUNCEMENT May 19, 2021

Contact: Angelia Rorison 202-376-7700 publicaffairs@usccr.gov

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces the Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for North Carolina

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our North Carolina Advisory Committee, effective May 2021.

Advisory Committees have recently <u>examined</u> water affordability, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, maternal health and solitary confinement. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state and local levels.

For the state of North Carolina:

Olga Wright, Chair; Daniel Bowes; Pearl Burris-Floyd; Travis Cook; Christopher Duggan; Marcus Gadson; Steven Greene; Jonathan Guze; Jennifer Lechner; Angelo Mathay; Patrick Mincey; Donna Oldham; Catherine Read; A. Mercedes Restucha-Klem; E. Gregory Wallace and Bradley Young.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 51 state Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.