

NEWS RELEASE August 26, 2016 Media contact: Melissa Wojnaroski <u>mwojnaroski@usccr.gov</u> Tel: (312) 353-8311

## The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for Kansas

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights announces the appointment of 12 members to its Kansas Advisory Committee:

- Mildred Edwards of Topeka, Chair
- Russ Brien of Oskaloosa
- Mark Dodd of Topeka
- Steven Gieber of Abilene
- Martha Hodgesmith of Lawrence
- Ron Holt of Wichita
- Kristy Lambert of Prairie Village
- Jennifer Ng of Lawrence
- Phyllis Nolan of Louisburg
- Kirk Perucca of Prairie Village
- Ewa Unoke of Kanas City
- Gabriela Vega of Manhattan

State Advisory Committees produce reports and issue recommendations to the Commission concerning state-wide or local civil rights issues involving discrimination based upon race, color, sex, age, religion, national origin, and/or or disability and in relation to voting rights. The Commission, by Congressional mandate, establishes Advisory Committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Appointees to the Committees serve four-year terms and are unremunerated.

The Kansas Advisory Committee most recently conducted a public meeting in Topeka to hear testimony regarding voting rights in the state. The newly appointed Committee will begin its term by reviewing this testimony and producing a report on the topic, with findings and recommendations to the Commission.

#####

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about the Commission and its State Advisory Committees, please visit <u>http://www.usccr.gov</u> and follow us on Twitter: <u>https://twitter.com/usccrgov</u>