THE UNITED STATES COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

PRESS RELEASE September 16, 2013 Contact:
Peter Minarik
Director, Southern Regional Office
(404) 562-7000

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Appoints Tennessee State Advisory Committee Members

Washington DC – Marlene Sallo, Staff Director of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, announces the appointments of 12 Tennessee citizens to the Tennessee State Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed Tiffany Baker Cox of Nashville, Diane Di Ianni of Nashville, Brian T. Fitzpatrick of Nashville, Joseph Gregory Grisham of Collierville, Nika Jackson of Cordova, Jason A. Johnson of East Ridge, John Harris of Murfreesboro, Mary Howard-Hill of Chattanooga, Bernie Miller of Chattanooga, Christopher K. Sanders of Nashville, Gail S. Seavey of Nashville, and Eliud Gonzalez Trevino of Nashville to the Tennessee State Advisory Committee. The Commission appointed Diane Di Ianni as Chair. The appointments are for two years and members serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within the agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission may rely on studies and data from non-Commission sources and are not subject to an independent review by Commission staff. The views expressed in reports are those of a majority of the State Advisory Committee members and do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they represent the policies of the U.S. government.

Members of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights include Chairman Martin R. Castro, Vice-Chair Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, David Kladney, and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov.