THE MICHIGAN STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE U. S. COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

PRESS RELEASE

January 11, 2013

Contact:

David J. Mussatt, Regional Director Midwestern Regional Office (312) 353-8311

U.S. CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENTS TO THE MICHIGAN STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has announced the appointment of 17 Michigan citizens to its Michigan State Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed Lawrence G. Almeda, Carl Cohen, Samuel J. Gregg and Victor J. Torres of Ann Arbor; Wendell Anthony of Detroit, Michael D. Bishop and Howard S. Schwartz of Rochester; Donna L. Budnick of Harbor Springs; James K. Fett of Pinckney; Imad S. Hamad of Dearborn; Joyce C. Herron-Taylor of Southfield; Jayashree Kommareddi of Grand Blanc; Paul D. Moreno of Hillsdale; James S. Prescott and Sarah S. Prescott of Northville; and Kenneth L. Rosen of Troy and Arthur T. White of Kalamazoo. The Commission appointed Lawrence G. Almeda as Chairman. The appointments are for two years and members serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission may rely on studies and data generated by third parties, which are not subject to an independent review by Commission staff. The views expressed in reports are those of a majority of the State Advisory Committee members and do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they represent the policies of the U.S. government.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, David Kladney, Abigail Thernstrom, and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov