

ANNOUNCEMENT May 15, 2020

Contact: Zakee Martin 202-376-8359 zmartin@usccr.gov

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces the Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for Two States

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of two of our state Advisory Committees, in Nevada and Tennessee, effective June 2020.

Advisory Committees have recently <u>examined</u> education funding, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, human trafficking, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, and collateral consequences of criminal convictions. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state and local levels.

The Nevada Advisory Committee to the Commission most recently issued <u>Mental Health</u> <u>Implications for Policing Practices and the Administration of Justice</u>, in which the Committee examined the implications for the administration of justice of policing practices on communities of color, veterans, and individuals with mental and behavioral health issues.

The Tennessee Advisory Committee to the Commission most recently issued <u>Legal Financial</u> <u>Obligations in the Tennessee Criminal Justice System</u>, in which the Committee examined the practice of assessing legal financial obligations, such as fees, taxes, surcharges, and other costs on users of the TN court system, and the negative consequences of these obligations on the successful reintegration of formerly incarcerated individuals.

For the state of Nevada:

Wendell Blaylock, Chair; Michael Bowers; Sondra Cosgrove; Kenneth Dalton; Carol Del Carlo; David Edelblute; Debra Feemster; David Fott; Augusta Massey; Theresa Navarro; Rudy Pamintuan; Myrton Running Wolf; and David Sexton.

For the state of Tennessee:

Shaka Mitchell, Chair; Camela Blackmon; James Blumstein; Meggan DeWitt; Diane Di Ianni; Demetria Frank; Greg Grisham; Andrea Hatcher; John Phillips; Mark Pickrell; Ammon Smartt; Valorie Vajdik; and Yesha Yadav.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 51 state Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.