

ANNOUNCEMENT August 24, 2020

Contact: Zakee Martin 202-376-8359 zmartin@usccr.gov

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces the Appointment of Advisory Committee Members for Kansas

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights congratulates the following individuals on their appointments as members of our Kansas Advisory Committee, effective August 2020.

Advisory Committees have recently <u>examined</u> education funding, school discipline disparities, policing practices, mental health and the criminal justice system, legal financial obligations, human trafficking, fair housing, hate crimes, voting rights, and collateral consequences of criminal convictions. In addition to advising the Commission, Advisory Committee reports have contributed to policy changes at the national, state and local levels.

The Kansas Advisory Committee to the Commission most recently issued Civil Rights and Education Funding in Kansas, in which the Committee studied the potential disparate impact in access to education on the basis of race, color, age, religion, or disability. The Committee examined the extent to which specific school funding formulas contribute to disparities in student achievement, as well as alternative practices with the demonstrated potential to address such concerns. Prior to that, the Committee issued Voting Rights and Kansas Secure and Fair Elections Act, in which the Committee examined civil rights concerns relating to the SAFE Act's key requirements that: (1) voters provide documentary proof of citizenship upon registering to vote; and (2) that voters present photographic identification at the polls. Primary concerns included inconsistent training and implementation, resulting in individuals with valid identification being turned away at the polls; insufficient voter education to ensure that voters are aware of the new documentation requirements and how to fulfill them; circumstances under which individuals may be charged a fee to obtain the required documentation to vote; the potential for disparate impact on the basis of a number of federally protected classes; and the importance of weighing measures intended to prevent voter fraud against the potential for voter disenfranchisement.

For the state of Kansas:

Mildred Edwards, Chair; Michael Austin; Kenya Cox; Moussa Elbayoumy; Marche Fleming-Randle; John Fliter; Steven Gieber; Mary Lehoczky; Sally Murguia; Phyllis Nolan; Kirk Perucca; and Carla Pratt.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, established by the Civil Rights Act of 1957, is the only independent, bipartisan agency charged with advising the President and Congress on civil rights and reporting annually on federal civil rights enforcement. Our 51 state Advisory Committees offer a broad perspective on civil rights concerns at state and local levels. The Commission: in our 7th decade, a continuing legacy of influence in civil rights. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.